280ZX Appearance Exterior, Interior Discussions related to body kits, accessories, interiors, window tinting etc.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Wind shield rubber mould 280zx '83

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2012, 03:27 AM

Question Wind shield rubber mould 280zx '83

HI everyone,

Can i please get a step-by-step process to how i can remove my wind shield? The rubber that goes around the windshield , should i get the original or is it possible to find something similar in design that can work better?
Im new at this so i need some advice

thank you
Old 03-21-2012, 08:50 AM
The Good Twin

Are you replacing the windshield, or do you want to remove and reuse it? Because it's a nightmare trying to remove a windshield without cracking it. After doing several windshield R&R's myself, I take all my cars to the glass shop now.

If you are absolutely dead set on removing and installing it yourself, buy a windshield removal tool (you can get them from Harbor Freight for around $20). I can't remember if the 280ZX used a gasket from the factory, but most installers reinstall 280ZX windshields with silicone instead. Just make sure that the sill is clean (fix any rust while it's out).
Old 03-21-2012, 09:29 PM

I had my windshield replaced last year for $169+tax by a mobile installer. The zxes don't use a rubber gasket on the windshield but are glued in with windshield urethane. DO NOT use silicone!!

The side moldings come off first after revealing the screws underneath the rubber weatherstrip on the A-pillar. The upper and lower garnishes are snapped on by mounting strips with integrated clips, and after 30 years are rarely reusuable.

Whether doing it yourself (which I wouldn't recommend) or paying an installer, preorder the upper and lower mounting strips/clips which are still available from dealer. Check http://www.nissanpartszone.com/