ZDriver.com

ZDriver.com (https://www.zdriver.com/forums/)
-   240Z, 260Z, 280Z (S30) Forums (https://www.zdriver.com/forums/240z-260z-280z-s30-forums-9/)
-   -   Totally Ignorant needs advice (https://www.zdriver.com/forums/240z-260z-280z-s30-forums-9/totally-ignorant-needs-advice-3246/)

CEscaflowne 09-07-2002 09:09 PM

Totally Ignorant needs advice

Hi,
I state first-off that I am a total nOObie when it comes to Datson Zs, so excuse my ignorance. I'm interested in buying a '70's or early '80's Datsun Z, but am not sure quite what to look for. I'm sure there have been posts asking about the advantages of each model, but I am too lazy to look back over the billions and billions of posts on this forum lol.

Basically, I'm leaning towards a '81 to '83 ZX Turbo, since it will give me a fast base to start with. What I need to know are the comparative strengths and weaknesses in accelleration, handling, and ease of modification between 70's through early 80's models.
There's a catch to my situation: The base cost of the vehicle must be under $2500. Preferably, it should be under $1000. The reason for this is a joint project/competition between me and a few friends. Each of us buys a cheap car, then tunes it according to their wants. The limit is that the cost of the car and the modifications CANNOT exceed $2500.

If the car is not legally driveable (meaning safety and maintainence, like passing state inspection; not because it's a race-car) then the repair costs to pass inspection do NOT come out of the spending limit. If we buy a performance part to replace an inspection-failling part, the DIFFERENCE in price between the performance part and what a stock part would normally cost is counted towards the $2500 spending cap.