ZDriver.com

ZDriver.com (https://www.zdriver.com/forums/)
-   240Z, 260Z, 280Z (S30) Forums (https://www.zdriver.com/forums/240z-260z-280z-s30-forums-9/)
-   -   240z what engine...? (https://www.zdriver.com/forums/240z-260z-280z-s30-forums-9/240z-what-engine-5749/)

alfman240z 05-19-2003 12:49 PM

240z what engine...?

i just bought my first z car. a 71 240z with alot of body work todo. i was sitting here wondering what kind of engine to put inside where i can get the most bang for my buck. theres a shop out here in san diego called Mckinny motorsports that will swap a RB25det for a grand total of about $9k-$12k estimated. but i have heard of people putting out close to 500+ hp to 600+ hp out of a 280zxt (L28et). how much would it cost to crank out that much power? is it worth it or should i go with a hybrid v8? and what would need to be done for a v8 swap... how much. just remeber that im a college student that is a speed freak with no dough ($$) well at least not that much. trying to get some sugestions while im working on all the wonderful body work that im stuck with. oh yeah the shop will also swap a SR20det for about $9k or "japans ultimate weapon (rb26dett)" for a killer $18k. thanks for what ever info you guys give me...

veyenyl 05-19-2003 04:53 PM

Check this thread https://www.zdriver.com/forums/showt...&threadid=4965

nismo_trip 05-22-2003 04:03 PM

Damn that is a lot of money for an RB25 swap! In Australia for 9 - 12 k (18 - 24 k $AUS) you could get a RB26DETT fitted with a decent turbo setup (HKS maybe) And many other mods and probably be making around 250 - 300 kW at the rear treads (um around 400 hp maybe more ?).

alfman240z 05-22-2003 07:10 PM

well...