ZDriver.com

ZDriver.com (https://www.zdriver.com/forums/)
-   240Z, 260Z, 280Z Performance / Technical (https://www.zdriver.com/forums/240z-260z-280z-performance-technical-124/)
-   -   Cold Acceleration Sputtering (https://www.zdriver.com/forums/240z-260z-280z-performance-technical-124/cold-acceleration-sputtering-15798/)

venumus93 11-16-2005 04:04 PM

Cold Acceleration Sputtering

Hey everyone-

Newbie here with a big problem. I have a 1976 280Z that has a 'flat spot' when hitting the gas when the engine is cold, accompanied by back fires through the throttle body. I just had my mechanic replace the cold start valve, clean out the throttle body, clean out the mass air meter, and clean off the spark plugs. When the car warms up, it runs like a champ!

Please someone help meeeeeeee!! I want to get back to driving my Z!!!!!

Thanks!

later!
Sean

BoulderZ 11-17-2005 08:00 AM

Having to clean off the plugs makes it sounds like they were maybe getting fouled, which might indicate it's running rich? That kind of matches your description of the behavior when it's cold. Things that could cause that would first be the cold start valve, which you've wisely already replaced, so it's not still that. The fact that once it's warm it runs fine implies maybe the temp sensor (front of the head) isn't right, or it's plug/connection is bad. So, you might want to check, clean, or replace that. The flat spot could also mean a dirty or bad connection on/in the throttle position sensor, so checking and cleaning that wouldn't hurt, either.