ZDriver.com

ZDriver.com (https://www.zdriver.com/forums/)
-   240Z, 260Z, 280Z Performance / Technical (https://www.zdriver.com/forums/240z-260z-280z-performance-technical-124/)
-   -   72 240z Twin Hitachi round top su carb HELP HELP HELP (https://www.zdriver.com/forums/240z-260z-280z-performance-technical-124/72-240z-twin-hitachi-round-top-su-carb-help-help-help-35756/)

blackweb 08-05-2012 02:11 PM

72 240z Twin Hitachi round top su carb HELP HELP HELP

I recently traded a VERY tired 64 thunderbird for a 72 240z and haven't had any regrets ever. That being said, I really need some help though. I am pretty new to the world of carburetors and I now wish i would've done more research of the SU carbs before tackling the issues at hand. The first issue I had was that a bad float needle assembly. I did some work and got all of that fixed. It had been getting stuck and was flooding out. I got that fixed and got the floats in both carbs to be doing pretty well. I even drove the car a little bit. However, it was idling pretty high. It had been idling at around 1500rpm and I got it down to about 900rpm. Now this is where it gets sticky and where I should've done more research. The screws I adjusted to get the idle speed down were unfortunately not the idle adjustment screws, they were the balance and the fast idle screws. So after the car seeming to run fine for a little while, it all of a sudden would have very sporadic idling speeds. I grabbed a haynes manual and followed how to properly set the idle speed and when I turned the idle adjustment screws (i got it right this time) to what they said to do after slackening completely the balance and fast idle screws my car was then idling at well over 3,000-3,500 rpm. I traced that to probably a leaking vacuum line. So i replaced all of the vacuum lines. After doing that and getting to the same step for adjusting the idle speed it was now down to about 1,200-1,500 rpm. Any time I try and adjust it down with the idle adjustmen