240Z, 260Z, 280Z Brakes, Wheels, Suspension and Chassis Discussions related to performance suspension, wheels, brakes and chassis.

Newbie here, so be gentle. Few questions on front suspension

Old 09-09-2004, 05:50 PM

Newbie here, so be gentle. Few questions on front suspension

I just got a 72 240Z and I love it. Problem is, it's been in storage for the last 4-5 years and now the suspension needs attention. I bought a poly bushing kit to replace the old rubber bushings with and I just got new ball joints and tie rod ends. I figure I will do it all so I know it's all new and I won't have to worry about it. Well, I spent the last 2 hrs taking the passenger side apart (michigan cars like to rust bolts in, so heat was needed to free them) and had a couple small problems and a couple questions.

Problem.
When I removed the streering arm to get to the ball joint I found the front bolt had pretty much destroyed the threads while being removed. Can I get a new one? Am I screwed, do I need a new hub assembly?

Question.
Do I need to have the front bushings pressed out or is there a trick I can use at home? I don't have a problem having them pressed out, but would rather not pay for it if I don't have to.

I'm sure I will have more questions for you as I go along. I really like this little car and want to make it as fun and safe as I can.

Thanks

Jason
Attached Thumbnails Newbie here, so be gentle.  Few questions on front suspension-datsun01.jpg   Newbie here, so be gentle.  Few questions on front suspension-datsun02.jpg  
Old 09-09-2004, 09:18 PM
I have a present for you...

Originally Posted by jmanz6