350Z Brakes, Wheels, Suspension and Chassis Discussions related to performance suspension, wheels, brakes and chassis for the 350Z

tire choice

Old 04-14-2013, 09:49 AM

tire choice

about to buy some new front tires on my Z and was thinking about going with the same size as the rear which is 245 45 18. First question, can they be rotated front to rear, and will the same size tire front to rear cause a problem with the tcs?
Thanks in advance !
Old 04-14-2013, 10:04 AM

Wheel Size

Do you have a staggered set of rims ? Are the rims you currently have same size front and rear ? many tires are directional, so you have to keep them on the same side of the car. If you are running stock wheels I'd just get the same size. There's a lot of variables in choosing tires. I have no 350z experience, but many guys run staggered sets, with wider rims and wheels on the rear, if done properly you can get a really nice look with the wheel wells filled up with all the rubber you can squeeze in there.
Old 04-14-2013, 10:11 AM

yes the rims are the same size 18x8. I also noticed that the old tires seemed to be worn more on the inside , is this a common problem on z's or just a simple alignment problem?
Old 04-14-2013, 10:37 AM

Alignment

Most likely an alignment issue, you might be out of adjustment or possibly a worn bushing is allowing you to go out of spec. A good alignment shop should be able to tell you which it is. if your tires are uni-directional, then the obvious call would be go same tire all around, I believe it's normal rotational practice to go opposite corners, like moving the drivers rear tire to the passenger front. Depending on your driving habits and the expense of the tires, it might benefit you to rotate tires on a regular basis, to get the maximum out of them. 17's 18's and larger Tires can be very expensive, so you really want to get every last ounce of safe rubber off them before you get new ones.
Old 04-14-2013, 11:24 AM