300ZX (Z31) Performance / Technical Discussions related to Turbo charging, Supercharging, Engine, ECU, exhaust, and etc. performance enhancements and Techical related.

'88 5 speed ECU p/n and information

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2016, 10:06 PM

'88 5 speed ECU p/n and information

Hello all,

This is my first post here. I'm new to the Nissan world, but definitely not to the automotive scene in general. I'm acquiring an '88 300ZX N/A tomorrow, and well, it doesn't run currently because it has very old gas in the tank and:

- The original ECU got soaked, and was replaced with an '85 ECU (not sure why they didn't just get an '88). I read that in '88 the injector impedances changed and therefore the ECU output signal is different than the previous ones. Is this true?

- Could this be why it does not start?
- Are there other ECU differences that I should be aware of?

Also, on z31.com I found a table of ECU part numbers (resources:z31_ecu_list [Z31.com]). I just wanted to be absolutely sure that "23710-25P00/A18-A00M84" is the correct ECU for this Z and is the one I should find for a replacement.

I look forward to learning a lot from this project, and wanted to say thank you in advance for your help!

Last edited by Zulu31; 03-23-2016 at 11:00 PM.
Old 03-24-2016, 06:57 AM
The Good Twin

Welcome to ZDriver!

My z31 ecu zip file would be helpful in your case. It contains docs and ecu comparisons by year for the 280zx Turbo Z31T ecu upgrade.

(Right click and save as)
https://www.zdriver.com/forums/attac...cu-swap-v3.zip

In a nut shell, the 88 n/a ecu is high impedance, zirconium o2 sensor. The 85 n/a ecu is low impedance, zirconium o2 sensor. Maybe (hopefully) they installed a resistor pack somewhere in the harness? If they ran it for any long length of time without resistors, they probably burnt up the injectors.
Old 03-24-2016, 07:32 AM

Originally Posted by NismoPick
Welcome to ZDriver!