300ZX (Z31) Forums Dedicated to 84-89 ZCars otherwize known as the Z31's

wont start when hot

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2011, 10:04 PM

wont start when hot

after i drive my z around for awhile it won't start. it will crank but die. so far it has eventually started, and when it does it runs rough, huffing and chugging and will then throttle up when i press down on the accelerator. after revving the engine for a minute it runs smoothly.

i'm new to mechanics, sorry if this is dumb, but where and how do i start diagnosing this problem? it has only happened to me after i've driven it around (usually for about 20 minutes at least) and it has sat for less than 30 minutes or so. i have driven it for 45 minutes and let it sit for 2 hours and it starts up fine.

a man sitting next to me at the grocery store said something about a cold start problem, but i didn't catch everything he said. he said to turn the key to "on" but not to ignition several times and then try. 'too old to read the codes,' he said as he drove away.

i need a good mechanic in portland!
Old 03-20-2011, 10:46 PM
Ruff Ryder

The next time you drive it, turn the ignition on and leave it on for a few seconds then hit the starter. Sounds the fuel rail isn't holding pressure.
Old 03-21-2011, 06:38 PM

thanks. i will try that.
Old 03-24-2011, 11:02 AM
West Coast!

hey you ever get a quote for me on the fender flares?
Old 07-20-2011, 06:32 PM

Originally Posted by anniversary_Z
after i drive my z around for awhile it won't start. it will crank but die. so far it has eventually started, and when it does it runs rough, huffing and chugging and will then throttle up when i press down on the accelerator. after revving the engine for a minute it runs smoothly.