300ZX (Z31) Forums Dedicated to 84-89 ZCars otherwize known as the Z31's

Turbo overboost or turbo leak? Need help

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2014, 11:54 PM

Turbo overboost or turbo leak? Need help

Hello everyone I'm new to the forums, and this is my very first turbocharged car. I bought it 3 months ago for a cheap price, I needed a car badly (was out of for 6 months), so I bought this 1984 300zx turbo 170,000 in rough condition.
I've been fixing and maintaining what I can, oil, fluids,
ended up removing the power steering because it had a bad leak; not bad at all to drive! Biggest problem was the right lower control arm, replaced it, car was ready to drive up the grapevine to visit los angeles.
OR SO I THOUGHT
I noticed my car started to drive funny.
I will try to explain what it does (i'm new to turbo cars)

When I accelerate normally (normal driving, not stomping on it etc.)
I noticed that the RPMS shoot up to 4k - 5k and i can hear the turbo whistling or spinning up fast, but the car isn't really moving fast at all (it feels like the turbo is just spinning the engine isn't really catching the power, and then it "catches" or stabilizes and I can feel the car "catch" the power and the rpms drop down to normal RPMs and the car accelerates normally, however
everytime i press the accelerator the rpms jump up and it does the whole cycle again. Eversince this has been happening i've been hesitant to floor the car, I did it once, and the rpms shoot up so high and there's no power
It does this through all gears, I also noticed a new ticking noise when accelerating, it's a little louder than valve ticking but i'm not too sure,
it goes away when i park in my driveway and i'm in neutral and the ebrake is up

This wasn't happening this bad until a week ago
Before , it would never happen between 1-3rd gear,
it would only happen on the freeway when I needed to pass a car, lets say 4th to 5th,