300ZX (Z31) Forums Dedicated to 84-89 ZCars otherwize known as the Z31's

$950 for 50AE?

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2014, 05:22 PM

Question $950 for 50AE?

I'm new to this forum, but I've been lurking around it and others for awhile now researching this car. The VIN matches and it is a 1984 50th AE 300ZX. There is some minor surface rust on some trim panels, a few minor dents. Only major rust is near the back underside, fairly common and not structural. It needs new struts and tires all the way around, but I was planning on replacing those regardless. The digi-cluster doesn't work, which is a bummer, and the radio won't stay on. He was originally asking $1500, but he dropped it to $1000 because he need to get it out of his friends garage so they could work on some honda they just bought. The price we agreed on was $950 and he would provide transport to storage for me.
What do you guys think? Is that a fair deal? This is my first time buying a project car, and my first time buying a car in general. I'm just very nervous because I don't want to regret this. Guess I'm just hoping for some assurance that I'm not overpaying.

Thanks for anyone who pitches in.
Old 03-21-2014, 05:32 PM

Buy it

Sounds like a good project, we will help as much as possible. post some pics if you can
Old 03-21-2014, 05:41 PM

I'll get some pic up soon. Just need to upload them to flickr.
Old 03-21-2014, 06:41 PM

Definitely a steal of a deal. Working or not, as long as it's not completely rusted out or has been hacked up electronically, it's always a sound deal.
Old 03-21-2014, 07:18 PM

It's actually running, though rough. He's thinking timing is off when he reinstalled the engine. I'm not to concerned though since I plan on tearing the engine down and rebuilding it. Electronically, everything seems good. The only issues are the digi-cluster and the radio, but I planned on putting in an aftermarket radio so I don't mind. And I've seen the clusters go for $250 on ebay.