240Z, 260Z, 280Z (S30) Forums Dedicated to first generation ZCars

Slow crank no start new batt/starter

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2016, 06:27 AM

Slow crank no start new batt/starter

Hello guys i am new to the z long story short my dad and i rebuilt this 73 240z and for some reason he lost interest in it so its been sitting for 2 years i finally have a bit of money to throw into it im trying to get it running at first it would only click when trying to start so I replaced battery... i still got a clicking when turning over all lights work turn signals etc. i bench tested starter and it works but not under load so i replaced starter now ill get 2 maybe 3 turnovers and i have brand new battery i put on a all night charge maybe the battery had been on the shelf too long same thing i cleaned all corroded connections and have new terminals.... so i cant figure out why i am still getting a very slow crank SOMEONE PLEASE HELP LOL THANKS!!!!!
Old 04-27-2016, 09:25 AM

Welcome to the ZDriver forum.

You'll find lots of folks here who will help you in your quest.

You do get better help when it is clear you've done your own research and still can't solve your problem (not saying you haven't in this case).

You also get better help when you make it easier for us (some of us are older) to read your posts. Not using punctuation and proper letter case makes it harder to understand your message.

Get yourself the factory service manual (FSM) online at XenonZcar.com S30 Factory Service manuals - this manual will become your Z bible. It is specific to your model and in spite of the sometimes stilted English, is not hard to understand.

There is lots of information available by browsing the home page of that site as well.

------------