240Z, 260Z, 280Z (S30) Forums Dedicated to first generation ZCars

New & in Need of some advice

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2015, 10:10 PM

New & in Need of some advice

Hey zdriver forums I'm new to the whole Datsun scene. I've dabbled in restoration projects wih my cousin we've fixed up a supra,a couple EF's and EG's and we've flipped them. But now Im trying to have my own personal car that i could be proud of rebuilding. And since I love JDM and Muscle and Classics. I've decided on buying a 240Z I'm going to buy a rolling shell and look for an l28 engine and tranny (at my local junkyard) most likely from a 280 and drop it in there. What I need advice on is how I should go about organizing everything. I know having a budget is important. But I don't really need to drive the car atm because I use public transportation for legal reasons at the moment. So should I focus on patching up the rusted areas and repainted everything? The car is selling for about 700$ in probably 6/10 condition.

Any advice would be appreciated, thanks!!

- Francis
P.s I hope to be more active and updating once I get the Z
Old 02-21-2015, 11:40 AM

Welcome to ZDriver!

Great idea you have there and lots of good work to do on your first Z...no doubt. First, you have to find the right one. Not so easy because a good inspection is what you need right away. Hard to do that with a no-motor/ not-running Z - but not impossible. You need to get inside, under and all over it to see what the rust situation is. (Some kinds of rust are no sweat - other kinds are a deal-killer) Guys here will probably not want to comment without your inspection photos posted here. Lots of photos, all over the Z. But they do know their Zs and will point you in the right direction. Be ready for some plain talk here when those photos are up. There are a lot of S30s out there, even more as the prices rise... Without photos, we all get to blow some hot air.