240Z, 260Z, 280Z (S30) Forums Dedicated to first generation ZCars

Just got a 1973 datsun 240z from my grandpa... where to start?

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2015, 09:59 AM

Just got a 1973 datsun 240z from my grandpa... where to start?

Hey guys! This is my first post here, I just finally convinced my grandfather to let me rescue his 1973 Datsun 240z.

He was the original owner and bought the car brand new from a Datsun store in upper Michigan. The vehicle right now has just over 82k on it, however for the last 10-15 years the car has been sitting in his pull barn covered up without being driven.

The body of the car is in great shape, the interior is still in pretty good shape especially considering the year, however the brakes are completely shot. Also the stock clutch is stuck to the ground.

I currently have a 1992 300zx TT that I have been working on and modifying for over 5 years and have always had some type of project car whether is was my fathers 66 chevelle ss or my first 1999 Honda civic si. so I like to believe that I can do most of the work myself as I have always been pretty mechanically inclined.

The reason I am in this forum is because a forum has always been the best way for me to learn about a specific car. so I figured this was the best place to start.

really I just want to know what you guys think about how the car looks and from my description how much work you guys think its going to take to get the car back to driving condition. my grandfather said that when he sprayed some oil in the carbs he was able to get the engine to turn over but the brakes and clutch have kept it from being driven.

Also any typical things to keep on the lookout for with the s30 as well as the best place to source parts would be appreciated.

I am located in the central New Jersey Area so if there are any shops or members with expertise in the area let me know bc I plan to bring the car back to life and I know it will be a long process with lots of questions.