240Z, 260Z, 280Z Performance / Technical Discussions related to performance motor enhancements, upgrades.

Performance head with stock injectors?

Old 11-19-2015, 05:05 PM

Performance head with stock injectors?

I am buying a new set of stock 280z injectors for my stock 1975 280z and wonder if they can be used on a performance head with higher compression and bigger than stock cam? I plan on upgrading the stock head at some point in time. Would I need to upgrade the injectors also? Thanks....
Old 11-19-2015, 10:09 PM
The Good Twin

Some people use turbo injectors on the n/a, really just depends on your fuel needs. An aftermarket fuel control unit is a great idea once you start doing a lot of mods (i.e. Megasquirt)
Old 11-20-2015, 07:48 AM

Ok, I'm new to Z's and have never dealt with FI. Most of my classics have been with carbs. I need to do some research on performance gains for my 75 stock 280z. I was thinking head work and exhaust. Maybe I can get a performance head with cam etc that is bolt on leaving the bottom end stock. I know I need more compression but it would be nice to get maybe 50-70 more HP with a good head and exhaust system? Any ideas out there? Cost? Vendors?
Old 11-21-2015, 09:29 PM
The Good Twin

Where are you sourcing this "performance head" from?
Old 11-22-2015, 06:53 AM

Originally Posted by NismoPick
Where are you sourcing this "performance head" from?

That's what I am asking. I don't have a source for rebuilt performance parts if there are any. I was hoping there are either aftermarket heads or ???? Rather than sending out my head to be rebuilt.
Old 11-22-2015, 08:10 AM

If you're having an issue with $80 for a used FSM, why are you asking about performance heads?

What condition is the car in? How are the brakes, bushings, struts, coils, and body?
Get all of the safety stuff in good shape before trying to get more power out of the car. You'll get to enjoy the car (and possibly even your life) for much longer.
Old 11-22-2015, 09:02 AM