240Z, 260Z, 280Z Performance / Technical Discussions related to performance motor enhancements, upgrades.

My z starts but doesn't run...

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2007, 11:28 AM

My z starts but doesn't run...

Greetings,
I just got my 1975 280z. It starts every time but doesn't stay running. It almost acts like the engine is flooded...it just peters out after about a minute. The oil is full of gas -- very thin and you can smell gas just by pulling out the dipstick.
It also seems to have a vaccuum leak (maybe?) as there is gunky oily stuff in the air filter compartment. I started thinking maybe both of these issues are related -- any ideas of where to start would be appreciated.

Thanks!
Mtnangie
Old 07-25-2007, 11:33 AM
The Good Twin

Welcome to ZDriver!

Check the connection on the AFM & CHTS first.... then check for any major vacuum leak (like a cracked or loose tube or boot).
Old 07-25-2007, 12:08 PM

I am just learning about this car and have little prior mechanical experience. I want to troubleshoot so I am not spending a lot of dough on the figuring out part but rather on the fixing part. What's the AFM and the CHTS and where are they located? I started thinking it could be a carburetor problem but I can't figure out from the Haynes manual if this car has a carb or is fuel injected. I think it has a carburetor.
Thanks for your help!
Mtnangie
Old 07-25-2007, 12:26 PM
The Good Twin

Wait... it's a 280z or 260z??? And a quick look under the hood should let you know if it's carb'd or injected. If it's carb's you will see twin carbs on the left (drivers side) of the motor. If it's fuel injected you will see a lot of wires and 6 fuel injectors on the intake manifold.

Here's some pics to help you out.

Carb'd:

Injected (for a turbo, but you get the idea):

Old 07-25-2007, 12:34 PM